Skip to main content

Character Counts

Character Counts

At Ivey Ranch we believe in partnering with parents to teach children the life skills that will help them feel good about themselves, build strong and caring relationships with others, and make home, school and community better.  This is done through themes based on the pillars of character through the CHARACTER COUNTS program.

The Six Pillars of Character are:

  • Trustworthiness : blue
    • Think "true blue"
  • Respect : yellow/gold
    • Think The Golden Rule
  • Responsibility : green
    • Think being responsible for a garden or finances; or as in being solid and reliable like an oak
  • Fairness : orange
    • Think of dividing an orange into equal sections to share fairly with friends
  • Caring : red
    • Think of a heart
  • Citizenship : purple
    • Think regal purple as representing the state

Our objectives for this program are to encourage students to take responsibility for their choices and actions and to empower students to be their personal best.

The Six Pillars of Character are emphasized in the classrooms and are highlighted at flag celebrations and on TERRIFIC Kids cards, which can earn kids a reward if they are caught demonstrating these character traits.

We encourage you to review the Character Counts program website.